"A beautiful retreat in the middle of the Kent countryside"

 Excellent

The cottage is surrounded by orchards with lots of lovely walks and the National Cycle Route 1 literally on your doorstep. The cottage is lovely and is well equipped with everything you need. We also stayed in Miller Cottage back in October which had the added bonus of a view of the donkeys! There are also chickens so lots of fresh eggs. There is plenty of room outside and parking is easy. It is a very quiet location and excellent for stargazing at night! The historic town of Sandwich is a 10 minute drive away or a very pleasant 1.5 hour walk on country lanes and Canterbury is a 25 minute drive.

Trip Advisor Review - 13 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Marc C
Dartford, United Kingdom

"Lovely peaceful accommodation away from the daily rush"

 Excellent

Beautiful cottage overlooking grassed area. We took our black labrador with us who settled in very well and enjoyed her daily walks along the footpaths nearby, taking us across farmland to the river. There were some lovely views across the marshes. The accommodation was spotless and was a lovely place to relax with all the basics we needed. Everybody we met, visitors and owners, were very friendly making our stay very enjoyable.

Trip Advisor Review - 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Hoppickers
Kent, United Kingdom

 

"Guinea pig heaven"

 Excellent

Our four guinea pigs all put on weight having enjoyed endless freshly plucked meadow grass and the quietness. The cottage is located ideally for exploring the area by car. The only drawback being that no shop or pub is in easy walking distance. The hosts and their pets were welcoming and accommodating to us all. Sadly we could not find any wifi and the 3G was poor which made booking some attractions impossible so do so before you leave home!

Trip Advisor Review - 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Jane and Paul C
Leicester, United Kingdom

 

"Very clean, quiet and lovely surroundings"

 Excellent

If you want peace and quiet and a clean place, then this is the place to stay.
Great base for visiting places such as Canterbury/Margate/Ramsgate/Sandwich/Deal.

FlipKey Review - 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Anon
St Albans, United Kingdom

 

"Apple Blossom and a Dawn Chorus"

 Excellent

It was our second stay at Hawthorn Farm Cottages staying again in the delightful Friars (now Foxglove) cottage. We had all the facilities we needed, what we like was how spacious and clean it was. Hot water on demand and a cooker for those cooks, even a microwave if required. The bathroom is spacious very clean, and comers with a power shower, again hot water does not run out. Into the lounge you have a large TV with DVD player and clock radio, to the back of the sofas a dining table and chairs with plenty of space for a family of four. Two bedrooms, one with 2 single beds and the other a double, comfy double, the single beds we had no need to use.

The cottage is surrounded by beautiful orchards all around us, just starting to go in to full bloom, apples, plums to pears. The views are far towards the River Stour and beyond. Walk down the path left of the driveway you head towards the Stour, a lovely river for an evening stroll. Driving into the cottage you come to a pond on the left with beautifully coloured fish and a waterfall. A little further down the drive are the cottages with plenty of parking which goes with the stunning designed garden not tarmac but lovely pea shingle. Further to the right behind the cottages are the lovely ladies clucking away and want to talk to you, hens who talk, well they are very friendly. then two stunning donkeys will amuse you and the young ones.

Plenty of farm shops within driving distance and some farms selling free range eggs, better than any supermarket. Canterbury is great for shopping, use the park and ride, it's cheap and buses are regular. For excellent food try the Goods Shed at West Canterbury Station, a must for all cheese, meat and cake lovers. Or Gibsons Farm Shop on the outskirts of Wingham a lovely warm chocolate brownie and ice cream is a must.

It was a lovely short stay, and hopefully more to come.

FlipKey Review - 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Anon
London, United Kingdom